top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBailey Fink

Let's Do This.



Before I started college, my mom told me I should start blogging because “that’s what journalism students do,” and I promise you I laughed in her face. I didn’t think I had anything to write about because I was 18 years old and had very little experience outside of the appropriately named “bubble” of Peters Township, Pennsylvania. But, now as I am 21 years old (doesn’t feel that far from 18) and I am about to enter my senior year at Ohio University (no one say the G-word), I think I have things to say and it’s time to start writing.

So, hello, my name is Bailey Fink and let’s embark on this weird blog-universe adventure together. I think this is the part where I talk a little bit about myself, so here we go.

I’m about to be a s—, I can’t say it again you already know, at Ohio University where I major in Journalism: News and Information, have a minor in Marketing and a specialization in Visual Communication (I know, busy). I’ve loved every second of my time at OU and Athens, Ohio, will forever have a huge piece of my heart #OUOhYeah.

I grew up in a suburb outside of Pittsburgh (#HereWeGo), where I have spent my summer while I’m interning at Pittsburgh Magazine. As I write this, I am on my last week of this internship and I am so devastated as it has been the best thing to happen to me in my journalistic career thus far.



At OU I am in Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, but I am not your typical sorority girl, and surprising even to me: I’ve made my best friends and I love it so #WLFEO (unless that got changed in the new branding, I’m not sure). I also am on the executive board of BobcaThon, OU’s 12-hour dance marathon in support of the Ronald McDonald House, which has changed my life in so many ways, through friends, the families at the house and just knowing that I could make such a huge impact on the world #FTK. OK, I’m done with the hashtags, even I got annoyed. And finally, this year I will be on the executive team for Thread Magazine, a fashion magazine (I’m surprised I work for it too) as the Features Editor, which I am so excited for because even though I’m not a “fashionista,” as the kids say, I’m ready to bring some hard hitting feature stories to the magazine.

Next, I’m not afraid to ask around for some help; for example, I texted 15 different friends to help me pick a name for this blog because I couldn’t decide, and as I’m writing this I still don’t have a name (so maybe I’m indecisive too). Then it turned out I didn’t need a name, sorry ladies, but thanks for the support.

I love to laugh at myself and I do it often, so hopefully you'll get at least one laugh out of this, if nothing else.

You know, maybe I overshared on the above information, but I think it’s important to give some background information, that way when I talk about specific things to my 10 readers (fingers crossed, hi mom 10 times) you won’t get confused.

And finally, as we start this journey, there is one more thing you need to know about me: I am unequivocally myself and I will never apologize for that.

How long are these things supposed to be? Oh well, I'll figure it out.

Let’s. Do. This.

Never Miss a Post. Subscribe to the Blog!

Thanks for subscribing! See you real soon!

bottom of page