top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBailey Fink

No One Say The G-Word

Wow, it has been a while, but I guess that’s what being a senior in college is all about: being super busy trying to soak in every moment of the last year. But while we’re on the subject, as a senior, I speak for all of us when I say: No one say the g-word (graduation, wow that hurt).


As the school year began, I realized that this year I didn’t want to have the mentality of everything being my last, I wanted to try to live in the moment and enjoy the time I have left.


That lasted literally eight hours.


Lights up on my first night in Athens when I see all of my best friends for the first time in months, you know the usual sorority girl screams and hugging. Cue one of them saying “wow, Bailey, you’re officially old. This is your last first night in Athens.” Cue me immediately crying.


Footage of me acting crazy on bid day

After that night, I thought I had gotten a hold of myself, school started out just like every other year. Sorority recruitment came and went, but provided me with the BEST bid day I’ve had while in Alpha Delta Pi, and I think it is because I’m a senior and I could let loose without thinking of the eyes on me while I’m acting crazy.


But, as senior year began, I started to realize: it’s not about the lasts, it’s about all of the memories you make along the way. When I graduate (ahhhh), I’m not going to remember the night I stayed up crying and stressed about an upcoming week or an exam, I’m going to remember the night that my two friends and I drove three hours to Cincinnati and three hours home to see the Jonas Brothers in concert, even though I had seen them in Columbus five days earlier. I’m going to remember the countless trips to Kroger that my best friend Lauren and I make each week to get groceries that we barely eat. I’m going to remember sitting on College Green crying at 2 a.m. with my best friend Cheyenne about the fact that we don’t want to leave this place and each other. And most of all, I’m going to remember all of the times I laughed until I peed my pants because of the people that I’ve met on this crazy four-year journey.



As I’m sitting here reminiscing, and crying (shocker, but I also think senior year is about the crying), I am so excited to take on these last remaining months I have in Athens, Ohio. In these months I will stress about upcoming story deadlines, I will stress about BobcaThon not having enough dancers or raising enough money, I will stress about finding a job after graduation and I’m sure I’ll stress a ton more. BUT. I will also go to Disney World with two of my close friends, I will take a spring break trip with my besties, I will eat all of the Athens food that my body will allow, I will laugh myself into gaining a six-pack (which I’ll need after all of the food) and I will live my best senior year life until the day I walk across that stage and get my diploma.


I may have come to all of these realizations early in the year, but that doesn’t mean I’ve come to terms with leaving, so, please friends, don’t say the g-word.

Never Miss a Post. Subscribe to the Blog!

Thanks for subscribing! See you real soon!

bottom of page